At orange, our offices are open for those who need to visit us in person. We also have a wide range of services available online or via the phone – using these will help reduce the risk and keep each other safe. Check out our COVID-19 response page for more details.

Meetings & Committees

Kā Hui me kā Komiti

Speaking During Meetings Monthly Meeting Schedule Disclaimer
  • The Queenstown Lakes District Council has the important job of making decisions alongside and on behalf of the people living in this district. Specifically, we are responsible for:

    • Community well-being and development.

    • Environmental health and safety. (building control, civil defence, and environmental health)

    • Managing infrastructure. (roading and transport, sewerage, water and stormwater)

    • Facilitating recreation and culture.

    • Resource management including land use planning and development control.

    The Council consists of the Mayor, six Queenstown-Wakatipu ward Councillors, three Wānaka ward Councillors, and one Arrowtown ward Councillor.

  • The Wānaka Community Board is not a committee of Council but a separate unincorporated body established under Section 49 of the Local Government Act 2002. The role of the Wānaka Community Board is to represent and act as an advocate for the Wānaka community. The Council has given extensive delegation to the Wānaka Community Board to make decisions on many of the facilities and services located within the Wānaka Ward.

    Community Board elected members are: Jude Battson, Barry Bruce, Chris Hadfield and Ed Taylor.

    Community Board appointed members are: Councillors Calum MacLeod, Niamh Shaw and Quentin Smith.

    Mr Barry Bruce is the Chair of the Wānaka Community Board.

    Mr Ed Taylor is the Deputy Chair.

    Wanaka Community Board drop-in sessions

    Members of the community are invited to attend a monthly drop-in session with the WCB, held on the first Wednesday of every month, between 12.00pm and 1.00pm in the Wānaka Recreation Centre meeting room.

  • The objective of the Planning & Strategy Committee is to recommend strategies, plans and policies that advance the Council’s vision and goals for the district and ensure integrated and sustainable management of the natural and physical resources of the district in accordance with the Resource Management Act 1991.

    Committee Members are: Councillors Penny Clark (Chair), Glyn Lewers, Calum MacLeod (Deputy), Valerie Miller, Niamh Shaw, Quentin Smith and Esther Whitehead. 

  • The objective of the Infrastructure Committee is to review strategy and policy for the Council’s infrastructure.

    Committee Members are: Councillors Quentin Smith (Chair), Heath Copland (Deputy), Penny Clark, Craig Ferguson, Niki Gladding and Glyn Lewers.

  • The objective of the Community & Services Committee is to review strategy and policy essential to the development of resilient, successful, healthy and safe communities.

    Committee Members are: Councillors Craig Ferguson (Chair), Heath Copland, Niki Gladding, Valerie Miller (Deputy), Niamh Shaw and Esther Whitehead.

  • The objectives of the Audit, Finance & Risk Committee are to assist the Council to discharge its responsibilities for:

    • the robustness of the internal control framework and financial management practices;
    • the integrity and appropriateness of internal and external reporting and accountability arrangements;
    • the robustness of risk management systems, processes and practices;
    • compliance with applicable laws, regulations, standards and best practice guidelines; and
    • the establishment and maintenance of controls to safeguard the Council's financial and nonfinancial assets.

    Committee members are: Stuart McLauchlan (Chair) (Independent), Councillors Niamh Shaw, Glyn Lewers and Heath Copland (Deputy), and independent members Roger Wilson and Bill Moran.  

  • The objectives of the Governance Subcommittee are to provide prompt authoritative recommendations on the recruitment and selection of directors to Council controlled organisations and Council controlled trading organisations.

    Committee Members are: Mayor Jim Boult, Chief Executive Mike Theelen and Councillor Calum MacLeod.

  • The objectives of the Elected Member Conduct Committee are:

    1. To monitor compliance with:

      • The Queenstown Lakes District Council Code of Conduct for Elected Members ('Code of Conduct'), and

      • The Queenstown Lakes District Council Standing Orders ('Standing Orders').

    2. Conduct an inquiry into any matters which may be referred to the Chief Executive.

    3. Conduct an inquiry and determine whether or not any complaint is to be upheld and to make recommendations to Council. 

    4. Consider, report and make any other recommendations to Council concerning any matters arising from its inquiry in relation to or concerning any complaint alleging a breach of Standing Orders or the Code of Conduct. 

    Committee Members are: All elected members of the Council and an independent person to be appointed by Council.

  • The objectives of the Appeals Subcommittee are to guide the resolution to appeals and mediations under the Resource Management Act 1991.

    Committee Members are: The Chair of the Planning & Strategy Committee and any two members of the Planning & Strategy Committee.

  • The objectives of the Traffic and Parking Subcommittee are to exercise Council’s delegations in the establishing traffic and parking requirements, restrictions and conditions across the district pursuant to the Traffic and Parking Bylaw 2018 made under the Land Transport Act 1998 and Local Government Act 2002.

    Committee Members are: The Chair of Infrastructure Committee (Chair), the Chair of the Community and Services Committee, the General Manager Planning and Development and the General Manager Finance, Legal and Regulatory.

  • The District Licensing Committee will consider and determine all applications (opposed and unopposed) for new and renewal licences and manager’s certificates, temporary authorities and special licences under the Sale and Supply of Alcohol Act 2012.

    Committee Members are: Lyal Cocks, Christopher Cooney, Ian Cooney, Neil Gillespie, John Mann, Brett Pay and Nicola Vryenhoek.


Speaking During Meetings

The public is welcome to attend all publicly-notified QLDC Council, Community Board, and Committee meetings. All Council meetings follow rules known as Standing Orders which allow for you to speak during a section of the meeting called public forum. Public forum happens at the start of every meeting and is part of the formal agenda.

Anyone who wishes to speak in the public forum is required to register with the governance team at least 24 hours before the meeting starts. You can do this either by telephoning 03 441 0499 (Queenstown); 03 443 0024 (Wānaka) or by filling out a registration form. You will be asked to provide your full name and the subject of your presentation.

Once the public forum has commenced, the Chair will invite individual speakers to the table and you will be asked to sit where you can easily speak into the microphone. Please note that under the Standing Orders, the Chair has the discretion to decline to hear any speaker, whether they have registered to speak or not.

For further information on public forum, please refer to section 14 of the Queenstown Lakes District Council Standing Orders.


Meeting dates, times and venues are subject to change. All of the above meetings are open to the public. Some meetings may have items of business that will be discussed with the public excluded, as set out by the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987.

Stay up-to-date

Sign up to our newsletter Scuttlebutt and stay up-to-date with the latest news, events & information in the Queenstown Lakes District.