Queenstown Lakes entered the Orange Light level of the COVID-19 Protection Framework on 3 December 2021. Learn more about changes to Council services here.


Ko kā kōwhirika pōti

Taking part in local elections is a key way to actively drive change in our district - either by standing for election or by using your vote.

Elections for the Queenstown Lakes District Council (Mayor, Councillors and Wānaka Community Board), Otago Regional Council and Southern District Health Board, are held every three years on the second Saturday in October. 

The latest election was held on 12 October 2019 and the next election will be held on 8 October 2022.  

Are you thinking about throwing your hat in the ring during the 2022 local elections? Check out Taituarā for more information.

By-Election in Queenstown-Wakatipu Ward

As a result of the resignation of Councillor John MacDonald, an extraordinary vacancy on the Council exists pursuant to section 177 of the Local Electoral Act 2001 (‘the Act’).  The Act requires that if a vacancy occurs in the office of a member of a local authority more than 12 months before the next triennial general election, the vacancy must be filled by an election under this Act.  The next triennial general election does not take place until 8 October 2022, meaning that a by-election was needed to fill the vacancy. 

The Electoral Officer for this by-election was Jane Robertson. The Deputy Electoral Officer for this by-election was Stacey Harris. 

Esther Whitehead is declared elected. 

Queenstown-Wakatipu Ward By-Election Results

Voting for the Queenstown-Wakatipu Ward by-election closed on 11 June. Results for the election are as follows:

Nominee Total Votes
Esther Whitehead 1,849
Phil Wilson 1,590
Emily Rutherford 408


The voter return was 26.49%, being 3,843 votes.  There are four special votes still to count.

Stay up-to-date

Sign up to our newsletter Scuttlebutt and stay up-to-date with the latest news, events & information in the Queenstown Lakes District.