Queenstown Lakes District Council

Final Proposal for Representation Arrangements for the 2022 Local Elections

Submissions

On 16 September 2021 the Queenstown Lakes District Council considered the submissions received on its initial proposal regarding the representation arrangements for the Council and the Wānaka Community Board to apply for the local elections to be held on 8 October 2022.

The Council received 303 submissions on its initial proposal. Of these, almost 75% were from Wānaka-Upper Clutha area, with about 16% from Arrowtown and the remainder from residents in Queenstown-Wakatipu or out of town.

The Council, meeting as a committee of the whole, held two hearings of submissions on 26 and 27 August 2021, welcoming 31 speakers who spoke to their written submissions.

- Most submissions from Wānaka-Upper Clutha sought retention of the Wānaka Community Board, identifying the area is a separate community of interest.
- Most of the submissions from Arrowtown sought retention of the ward and the single Councillor representative.

Other objections raised through submissions were as follows:

- Altering the boundary of the proposed Kawarau Ward to include the existing Arrowtown
 Ward to reflect a wider community of interest primarily east of the Kimiākau Shotover
 River but moving Kingston, Kelvin Peninsula, Jacks Point and Hanley's Farm to be in the
 proposed Queenstown-Whakatipu Ward.
- Creating wards for other small communities, such as Lake Hāwea, justified by the case for retaining the existing Arrowtown Ward.
- Creating more community boards for small communities throughout the district.

In addition, Tatauranga Aotearoa Statistics New Zealand (via Mana Kāwanatanga ā Rohe Local Government Commission) provided advice to the Council that the meshblock pattern had been altered and that new population estimated (June 2020) based on the 2018 Census data was available and these should be applied to the Council's final proposal.

Final Proposal

Having considered all the submissions, the recommendation to Council is that it adopt an amended proposal as follows:

- That all Councillors are elected in wards;
- The names of the wards shall be: Queenstown-Whakatipu, Arrowtown-Kawarau and Wānaka-Upper Clutha;
- The boundaries of the wards shall be:

- The boundary of the Wānaka-Upper Clutha Ward will be the same as the present Wānaka Ward;
- The boundary of the Arrowtown-Kawarau Ward will be 3038701, 3038702, 4014322, 4014303, 4014329, 4014328, 3039504, 3038219, 3038106, 4001028, 4001203, 4016932, 4018096, 4001213, 3039727, 4001031, 4014322, 4015842, with the interior including the full area of the present Arrowtown Ward;
- The boundary of the Queenstown-Whakatipu Ward will be 4014604, 4010455, 4014325, 3039405, 4015498, 3038202, 4011608, 4011609, 4010439, 4010440, 4000500, 4010438, 4017638, 3040001;
- Four Councillors will be elected by the voters in the Queenstown-Whakatipu Ward, four Councillors will be elected by voters in the Wānaka-Upper Clutha Ward and three Councillors will be elected by voters in the Arrowtown-Kawarau Ward;
- That there shall be a Wānaka-Upper Clutha Community of Interest and a Wānaka-Upper Clutha Community Board comprising four members elected directly by voters in the Wānaka-Upper Clutha Ward as a whole and three of the four Wānaka-Upper Clutha Ward Councillors as an appointed member (to be appointed by Council).

The Council considers the final proposal based on the submissions is appropriate for the following reasons:

- The proposal creates three compliant wards in accordance with S19V(2) of the Local Electoral Act ['LEA'] (+/-10%) that reflect communities of interest;
- The proposal preserves the community of interest in Wānaka-Upper Clutha by retaining the Wānaka-Upper Clutha Community Board in accordance with S19J of the LEA

The other matters raised in the submissions were rejected for the following reasons:

- The resulting representation would not comply with S19V(2);
- The Representation Review as prescribed by the LEA does not include the ability to create new territorial authorities, e.g. a new district council subdivided from Queenstown Lakes District Council;
- No other Communities of Interest had been identified pursuant to S19J to create additional community boards in the district;
- The Representation Review as prescribed by the LEA does not include the process to amend the name of a territorial authority, e.g. changing the name of the Council from Queenstown Lakes District Council, which is a process governed by the New Zealand Geographic Board Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa.

The final representation proposal is set out below.

Council Representation

It is proposed that the Council comprise eleven members elected from three wards, and the mayor. The three wards reflect the following identified communities of interest:

Queenstown-Whakatipu Ward	Primarily to the west of the Kimiākau Shotover River, this ward encompasses Jacks Point, Hanley's Farm, Kingston, Frankton, Quail Rise, Kelvin Peninsula, Glenorchy, central Queenstown and Fernhill.
Arrowtown-Kawarau Ward	Largely following the line of the Kimiākau Shotover River and covering the area to the east, with the external boundary to the north and east meeting the Wānaka-Upper Clutha Ward at the top of the Crown Range. The communities within this proposed ward would be Arrowtown, Gibbston Valley, Shotover Country, Lake Hayes Estate, Dalefield and Arthurs Point.
Wānaka-Upper Clutha Ward	From the top of the Crown Range and all of the Upper Clutha Area including Hāwea up to just beyond Makarora and including part of the Matukituki Valley in Mt Aspiring National Park.

The population that each member will represent is as follows:

Ward	Population	Members	Population per
	(Statistics NZ June 2020		member
	population estimates)		
Queenstown-Whakatipu Ward	18,450	4	4,613
Arrowtown-Kawarau Ward	13,000	3	4,633
Wānaka-Upper Clutha Ward	15,830	4	3,958
District	47,280	11	4,298

In accordance with section 19V(2) of the Local Electoral Act 2001 the population that each member represents must be within the range of 4,298 +/- 10% (3,868 to 4,727), unless particular community of interest considerations justify otherwise.

Community Board Representation

It is proposed that the following community board be elected:

Ward	Description
Wānaka-Upper Clutha Community	From the top of the Crown Range and all of the Wānaka
Board	Upper Clutha Area including Hāwea up to just beyond
	Makarora and including part of the Matukituki Valley in Mt
	Aspiring National Park.

Pursuant to S19J of the Local Electoral Act 2001, the Wānaka-Upper Clutha Community Board will be comprised of four members elected directly by voters in the Wānaka-Upper Clutha Ward as a whole and three of the four Wānaka-Upper Clutha Ward Councillors as an appointed member (to be appointed by Council).

Appeals and objections

Any person who made a submission on the Council's initial proposal may lodge an appeal under S19O of the LEA against the Council's decision. An appeal must relate to the matters raised in that person's submission.

Any person who objects to the final proposal may lodge an objection under S19P of the LEA to the Council's final proposal. Any objection must identify the matters to which the objection relates.

Appeals and objections must be made in writing and must be received by the Council no later than 5.00pm on 22 October 2021.

Appeals and objections are to be forwarded to:

Attention: Jane Robertson (Electoral Officer) 03 441 0499 Physical address: Council Offices, 10 Gorge Road, Queenstown

Postal address: Queenstown Lakes District Council, Private Bag 50072, Queenstown

Email: governance@qldc.govt.nz

(Subject marked 'Representation Review 2021 Appeals and Objections)

Further information

Direct any queries regarding the Council's decision to Jane Robertson (contact details above).

Mike Theelen Chief Executive 17 September 2021